Philippines – Where to go as a yogi?

When on Palawan I came across some amazing beaches that were crying out loud for some yoga action. I was there for a little under a week, but couldn’t find any regular classes. I’m aware though that yoga retreats are being organized on Palawan, so it is probably better to investigate this in advance of your trip there and see whether you could join. Alternatively it is you doing your flows on a remote beach, which is not a bad option either.yogaphil2

In general you will see that yoga is not offered in abundance like in Thailand or Indonesia while the tourism industry is probably getting to that same level in some Philippine islands. Where you will have some option for regular classes is in Boracay. I joined True Yoga on White Beach which organizes Hatha and Vinyasa flow classes every morning at 9am. The location is the first floor at True Food Indian restaurant. While it seems a bit odd to do this at a restaurant, the Indian decorations work well, and after having cleared the floor and filled it with yoga mats all you are left with is an amazing view on the beach.yogaphil 3

Another one is Boracay Yoga organized at Patio Pacific resort which I joined for a Hatha class when I was there. Markus gave a great class overlooking the pool in the garden, but I would probably say that True Yoga is the one to go for when you are around.

I visited just two islands when I was in the Philippines on this trip and I wonder whether there would be a ‘yogi’ island I haven’t come across yet? Drop me a note if you would know.

This entry was posted in Asia, Philippines, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

