Nepal – Pokhara and my volunteering experience

Volunteering in Pokhara

When I was in Pokhara I was actually there to do volunteering. I was ‘teaching’ English at a school for labour children as they called the kids. Labour children are children who either work themselves and therefor are not able to go to a regular school, or whose parents work but don’t earn enough to support them going to school. We had a group of 12 children ranging from as young as 4 years old to 14 years old. While it is in a way the saddest project, the children appreciated every attention you gave them.

Nepal6

One morning Mitri was two hours late and I was a bit like ‘why is that?’. This school is just 3 hours a day and if you miss 2 there is not so much use for that last hour. I found out though that Mitri, a girl 14 years old,  is working at a hotel and as it was busy she wasn’t allowed to leave for school. She came as soon as she could and cherished every moment to come and learn. I hang around for another hour that day just to give her some well deserved play and learn time.

I had the best time and I hope Subit, Mitri, Angel, Pinky, Sarijan, Samir, Bindu, Susil, Sangita, Sajan, Way, Susmita, Sagar and Kalpana also enjoyed my hugs, random English classes and hula hoop practices (thanks Jess).

Nepal2

This entry was posted in Asia, Nepal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

